ISANG ARAW, NG IBALIK NG TAXI DRIVER ANG WALLET KO.

nagmamadali akong umalis ng bahay dahil as usual, late na naman ako sa meeting ko ng 3pm, isang sabado ng hapon. kalat-kalat pa ang gamit sa bag ko dahil minadali ko lang gawin yung cluster reports and agenda ng meeting at sinuksok ko lang lahat sa bag ko. nag-taxi ako bandang 3:30 sa tapat ng village namin (tapat ng st.patrick). panay ang tunog ng cellphone ko habang kabi-kabila ang tawag ng mga tito sa akin. basta yun na yung eksena. haggardness na naman ever kaya tuliro na talaga ako.

bago bumaba, magbabayad na ko. naalala kong inutang pala ni daddy yung natitira kong barya na 200. pero just to check, binuksan ko ang wallet ko na naglalaman ng _ _ k (hindi pala 1 digit, 2 digits pala, taliwas sa naikwento ko kahapon). sabi ko: “manong, wala po akong barya e.” sabi niya: “nako kaka-byahe ko lang (bagama’t 4 na ng hapon). kahit singkwenta na lang.” naalala kong sinabi ko pa na “wala po talaga eh.” at pinakita ko pa sa kaniya ang laman ng wallet (which is stupid. haha.). ichineck ko ang aking coin purse, at may 60 php doon. akala kong naipasok ko ang wallet ko sa bag ko bago ko ilabas yung coin purse ko. bago ako bumaba, may babae ng nagbukas ng front passenger door para itanong kung maghahatid daw ba yung taxi sa fatima, pero tinanggihan ng taxi. sa right door ako dumaan dahil naka-lock yung left door (at sa right naman karaniwang bumababa). Continue reading “ISANG ARAW, NG IBALIK NG TAXI DRIVER ANG WALLET KO.”

WE’LL TALK TOMORROW.

**Read at your own risk. Found this from one of Paulo Coelho’s brilliant books – this is an excerpt from “The Zahir”. This is a conversation between a popular writer and his wife, Esther. I feel for Esther.

In a hotel room in Amsterdam, after a day spent promoting my books and after the usual publisher’s supper and the statutory tour of the sights, etc. Esther is in her nightdress and is looking out the canal outside the window. She has not yet become a war correspondent, her eyes are still bright with joy, she loves her work, travels with me whenever she can, and life is still one big adventure. I am lying on the bed in silence; my mind is far away, worrying about the next day’s appointments.

“Last week, I interviewed a man who’s an expert in police interrogations. He told me that they get most of their information by using a technique they call cold-hot.”

“Yes, I’ve heard about that.”

“Then he told me about something else that really frightened me. In 1971, a group of researchers in Stanford University in California, decided to create a simulated prison in order to study the psychology of interrogations. After just one week, they had to stop the experiment. The guards – girls and boys with normal, decent values from nice families – had become real monsters. The use of torture had become routine and the sexual abuse of prisoners was seen as normal. Everyone who took part in the experiment suffered major trauma, and needed long-term medical help, and the experiment was never repeated.”

“Interesting.”

“What do you mean ‘interesting’? I’m talking about something of real importance: man’s capacity to do evil whenever he’s given a chance. I’m talking about my work, about the things I’ve learned!”

“That’s what I found interesting. Why are you getting angry?”

“Angry? How could I possibly get angry with someone who isn’t paying the slightest bit of attention to what I’m saying? How can I possibly be angry with someone who isn’t even provoking me, who’s just lying there, staring into space?”

“How much did you have to drink tonight?”

“You don’t even know the answer to that, do you? I’ve been by your side all evening, and you’ve no idea whether I’ve had anything to drink or not! You only spoke to me when you wanted me to confirm something you had said or when you needed me to tell some flattering story about you!” Continue reading “WE’LL TALK TOMORROW.”

IRONIC: BUS RIDES MEAN GOODBYE AND HELLO.

written: February 15, 2010 Funny how one place can make you happy and sad at the same time. You think that after five years or so, I’d get used to it by now? Because, yes, Victory Liner can make me both happy and sad. I’d like to think that it is my best friend, but somewhere in between, it is not. I have spent countless nights (and days, even) on Victory Liner Cubao: to fetch someone, and for the very rare instances that I go down there from Baguio (for reasons I will not mention here), but most of the … Continue reading IRONIC: BUS RIDES MEAN GOODBYE AND HELLO.

VICTORY LINER: We move people faster, safer.

Because I love drama, like that.

This is a blog that I wrote some 3 years ago.

Kapag binagtas ang lugar ng Cubao, sunud-sunod na ang mga pier ng bus na makikita sa magkabilang gilid ng daan. Bukod pa ito sa mga naglipanang hotel at mga motel na maaring gamitin ng mga bakasyonista, mga nangangailangan ng matutuluyan, o ng mga nais magpalipas-oras lamang. Sa gawing kanan, makikita ang Dagupan Bus Liner at Superlines. Sa kaliwa naman, dun makikita ang Five Star at Baliwag Bus Lines. Pero ang pinaka-nakakakuha ng pansin ng mga mata sa lahat ng mga pier ng bus na ito ay ang Victory Liner. Simple man ang disenyo ng logo nito, hindi man kasing kulay ng logo ng ibang nabanggit na bus liners, agaw pansin pa din ang malalaki at pilak na mga letrang nakapakil sa itaas: “Victory Liner” (disclaimer: ngayon ay “computerized” at makulay na ang mga titik na ito). At kumpara sa ibang terminal ng bus, ito na ang masasabi kong pinaka-malinis, pinaka-malaki at pinaka-sosyal na terminal na nakita ko. mas madami at mas maganda ang hubog ng kanilang mga bus, mas malamig ang aircon, at masasabing mas ligtas magbiyahe dito kaysa sa ibang bus. Kaya naman ito din ang pinipiling tangkilikin ng mga bakasyonista at ng mga estudyanteng ginustong mag-aral sa malayo tulad ko. Continue reading “VICTORY LINER: We move people faster, safer.”

Finding a therapy for heartaches

written: March 10, 2010 I read in a book once that if you tell your history over and over, eventually you would be able to detach yourself from the situation – emotions and all – so you can act on it more maturely. And so I tell my story. A lot of people had been asking me lately: “Single?”. Oh yes. I am. I don’t want to tell everybody the whole story. But I wanted to share this sweet yet heartbreaking ending that I keep on rewinding in my head over and over. We were at the bus station. He hugged … Continue reading Finding a therapy for heartaches