Dedications – Reference to Old Love

It has been a month since someone dedicated a song to me. I thought it was sweet – had it not been a rap song that I can’t understand any word to. I know, the lyrics could easily be searched, since everything is googlable now, but still. The melody could not be associated to me in any manner.

That is why I decided to write about old lovers (yet again), and the songs which remind me of them. 

Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Deep Blue Something reminds me of L. How L used to tell me that we are the opposite of each other, and that we have absolutely nothing in common (no common grounds to start from). How things always come up, and how L ran away from me twice. And I hate it when things are over; when there are many things left undone – like eating at MCDO.

Back to you by John Mayer reminds me of a rocker boy with goatee. Because I always come back to him. I’m so good at forgetting, because it seemed that I have forgotten how he once (not once, but twice) broke my heart. I have completely forgotten, that I would gladly do it all over again, now, had it not been for his three kids.

I lost a necklace that someone gave me for my birthday, but I have never lost the dedication he made for me. I also remember that I used to sing this song for him, because yes, he was the first to believe. So here’s to an old love, to the one who is still there for me, regardless of whether or not his girlfriend cares – Stellar by Incubus.

To all the secret kisses that we shared; for the love affair that I still lie about to my friends. This secret might break a few hearts, if left unguarded – including his then girlfriend-wife and his child’s hearts, and my then-boyfriend’s. Kahit pa nagsalo tayo sa isang kasalanan.

I remember how I used to sing (no, shout) this song when long-distance lover and I first broke up after almost two years of being together. When I thought life without you is gonna be bluer than blue.

She and Him reminds me so much of recent love. I would like to dedicate Sentimental Heart (because old habits die hard), Change is Hard (especially because I know he’s yours and he’ll never belong to me again), and I Thought I Saw Your Face Today (and I couldn’t help but fall in love again) to the one who will always have the biggest space in my heart. I think it’s true when they say that of all the people you’ve loved before, there will always be this one whom you loved most, your one true love. Lucky are those who have managed to let their greatest love love them back.

To my future love, should we meet soon, I would like you to know that I have been thinking a lot about you lately. I would like to dedicate this song to you, because I know that we would share colorful days with all the beautiful people we know. 

This post is inspired by Ate Kath’s blog.

5 thoughts on “Dedications – Reference to Old Love

Leave a Reply

