A memorable corner from my past is saying goodbye.

It’s probably stupid to have so much feelings for places and the past, but, as they put it nowadays – I have “so much feels”. There’s a tugging sensation in my gut pulling me closer as it says goodbye.

all credits to my former schoolmate, Butch Mendizabal (posted on his IG account @butchmendizabal)
all credits to my former schoolmate, Butch Mendizabal (posted on his IG account @butchmendizabal)

Any Baguio-related news is big news. This Mcdo located at Lower Session Road, Baguio City, is apparently closing after 23 years of service. It is Baguio City’s first ever McDonald’s. Prior to its opening in 1991, Baguio residents went to Manila (or nearby cities) when they felt like having a cheese burger meal. Who would have thought that this memorable corner, this building, standing strong, proud and tall with all its glory, even after all the buildings beside it closed down, would suffer the same fate?

It has been there for all eternity; it’s hard to imagine anything so solid and constant in life to suddenly be taken away. I swear as I am writing this down, two big, fat tears betrayed me by rolling down my cheeks. *sniff sniff*

I will miss this spot where I once lost my phone on a busy Panagbenga day; where we used to “stop by” to do a quick potty break (because it’s free!); where I held hands with a past lover; where I watched as the elderly savor their coffee with morning news after an aerobics session at Burnham Park; where friends or secret lovers rendezvous; where my body failed to take in the intoxicating scent of my night protector after spending all night (and the rest of that memorable morning) at school during Pasiklaban. As my friend Job Manalang puts it, this is where the statement “kita-kits sa Mcdo” would only apply.

This news makes me want to go to Baguio. Now.

For those of you who wish to “pay their final respect”, here’s an invitation, and a goodbye letter, from the owner.

Here’s to another part of Baguio life disappearing.

all credits to Job Manalang, posted on his Facebook page.
all credits to Job Manalang, posted on his Facebook page.
One thought on “A memorable corner from my past is saying goodbye.

Leave a Reply

