(thoughts about) Sleep

While scanning my previous articles, I stumbled upon one unfinished article with a funny ending. You know how we would write our thesis or book reports or reaction papers back when we were still studying, and we would insert random sentences in between, just to check if the teacher is really reading the bulk of our reports? Reading this kinda feels as illegal as that. Here:

All credits to this man at flickr.com/photos/explosivebolts/
All credits to this man at flickr.com/photos/explosivebolts/

I can’t think of a single industry which has not utilized animation yet.

In fact, I can’t think of anything more to write. I am so sleepy that all I want to do right now is to crawl under my table, lie down, rest my eyes and do some heavy breathing exercises aka sleep. But what do you know, having your boss beside you, with an easy access to what is on your screen, prevents you from doing what you want or browsing websites. Or, say, watching X-Men in the office.

I’m just so so so so sleepy right now, I want to sleep on the cold, bathroom floor. I want to rest my head on the door and close my eyes and think of nothing – literally leaving my mind blank from all thoughts and voices inside my head. I want to sleep, I want to sleep, I want to sleep. That’s all I want to do right now.

I don’t know why I’m still that sleepy. I’ve already had 7 hours of sleep last night. It’s not like I stayed up all night or something. I slept well. I slept too well. The weather was perfect for sleeping. My pillow is perfect for sleeping. Too, too soft. My blanket is perfect for sleeping – it’s the kind that tickles the skin and gives you warmth, but not too warm. The pillows that surround me are all perfect for sleeping. Everything about my sleep last night was perfect for sleeping, which was cut short by a single, annoying sound – the alarm.

I’m sleepy. And the only remedy for sleepy is sleeping. But I can’t do that just yet. I have to wait and endure all these hours being awake. Until then, all I can do is think and fantasize and write about sleep, and how nothing in the world would ever satisfy this feeling that I have right now but to sleep. I want sleep. I need sleep. I yearn for sleep. Every single cell in my body agrees on a single thing: sleep.

Until then, all I could do is pretend I am writing things far more important. Until then, I have to pretend my eyes are wide open and my brain fully functional of thinking far more important things. In reality, these organs agree to pull themselves together a little longer until there is peace and solace in doing one single thing: sleep.

It is funny how I was able to write 5 full paragraphs about sleep. It’s funny how I have endured almost an hour. It’s funny how I still continue doing so.

Leave a comment